My first rookie mistake in Urho3D

Today I made my first rookie mistake.
It involved UI, and please note, I am completely new to Urho3D and its workflow.

I had some code that called UI::SetDefaultStyle for UI elements:
ui_->GetRoot()->SetDefaultStyle(cache->GetResource(“UI/DefaultStyle.xml”));

Later, I had some code to set up a splash screen, and based on public examples, I brainlessly had this:

UI* ui = GetSubsystem<UI>();
        BorderImage* splashUI = new BorderImage(context_);
        splashUI->SetName("Splash");
        texture = cache->GetResource<Texture2D>("Textures/LogoLarge.png");
        splashUI->SetTexture(texture); // Set texture
        splashUI->SetSize(texture->GetWidth(), texture->GetHeight());
        splashUI->SetAlignment(HA_CENTER, VA_CENTER);
        ui->GetRoot()->AddChild(splashUI);

splashUI->SetStyleAuto(); // <-- here's the culprit

What this does?
It sets the Texture of my UI Element to be the one used by the built-in UI elements.
Even though I could check my loaded texture name, size, etc was the one I thought I loaded, I would see the UI atlas texture instead.
It overrides the texture you thought you set, for that element.

I’ve learned my first lesson - don’t brainlessly attempt to string together code from different places, have a look at what it actually does!

1 Like

But calling SetStyleAuto earlier would solve it, right?

I’ll find out! But setting it later definitely didnt - my texture setting was ignored.

Which makes sense to me, since it is a style property which would be overridden by SetStyleAuto.

I’m glad it makes sense to you, but its not well documented. In fact, the documentation needs a dust-off in general, and is entirely missing in parts, such as physics, which I might consider adopting.

Often the samples provided with Urho’s source, or the engine’s code itself are most informative. Since Bullet is used for (3D) physics its documentation may be useful at times as well.