New to Urho3D and installation problems

I am new to urho3D, but I have used irrlicht.
However I am having a bit of trouble setting up urho3D.

I want to use urho3D with C++ and my preferred IDE is CodeBlocks.
So I installed the Urho3d_CodeBlocks_Wizrard-Master, which seemed to work ok.
I pointed it at an empty Urho3D folder I created knowing I was going to install Urho3D there.

I then downloaded urho3D-1.7.1.zip for windows.
I run cmake on the cmake_codeblocks.bat and pointed it at my folder I created.

It created a pile of folders and files. eg bin,CMakeFiles,Docs, include,lib,Source, and it made a Urho3D.cbp.
I thought I would have to run that and compile it and everything would work. However I get an error when I do this.

error: unknown type name ‘WAVEOUTCAPS2W’ and a pile of other errors.

Can anyone tell me where I am going wrong?

Hello and welcome to the forum! :confetti_ball:

I’m unfamiliar with Urho3D_CodeBlocks_Wizard but it is a community contribution last updated *edit: today. :slight_smile:

As a general rule (edit: without considering anyone’s requirements or issues; also 1.7.1 is current) I recommend the master repository https://github.com/urho3d/Urho3D which has an excellent stability record, and can also generate CodeBlocks projects.
Official build docs: https://urho3d.github.io/documentation/HEAD/_building.html

If all else fails, a Makefile project (vs. IDE-specific) works most anywhere.
HTH

1 Like

Hi Asimov500,
Welcome to the forum.
I haven’t used the wizard either, and not sure why you would need it. I just tried the 1.7.1 zip using the CMake GUI, targeting Code::Blocks and MinGW-w64, and it builds and compiles with no errors using the default values (64 bit).

What compiler and version and are you using, and 32 or 64 bit? There are a few issues on various sites regarding similar errors like the one you receive and they all seem to point to MinGW, including one in this forum: