Noob here, looking to contribute

I recently start fiddling with Urho3D looking in into its code. I would like to contribute something useful in Urho3D specially in Graphics. What I believe, Urho3D does not have Vulkan/Metal support and I think it would be good opportunity for me to learn and contribute here. Although I had found on forum that there is support available for angle–>vulkan–>moltenvk, which I guess would be performance killer.
What is your thought on this, or what are other items you can suggest?

2 Likes

These are complex topics that require lots of experience. Such first task would definitely be overwhelming and demotivating. Start small. Walk before you fly.

6 Likes

The issues on GitHub might provide some inspiration for things to work on:

Or maybe you could run by some existing pull requests?

What experience do you have with graphics pipelines?

1 Like

thanks to @kakashidinho and @elix22 the port works fine. Surprising, it is quite fast.
Hence, the only possible improvement would be a direct, unencumbered Metal port.
But that would require a mastership in shading, beyond in-deep Urho3d knowledge…

Just to gain, then, some relative feature beyond opengles2… it’s a lot of work for a couple of systems, ios and mac, whose games comes, for the former, mainly in 2d format, and, for the latter, mainly in poor shape, being mac os the worst video game platform you can find.

And, of course, you need to have a Mac…

1 Like

You are right its complex and I am also new to Urho3D. So I am learning it by going through available samples first later will focus on Vulkan port.

Ok. So it seems metal port won’t be that useful. So I guess Vulkan port would be more useful as its available on Windows, Android and Linux platforms.

2 Likes